This is Udon Country, son.

I feel this post has been long overdue. I had a friend in the US, whom went to the same college as me, do a “Ramen Run” for a farewell dinner of sorts. I was then featured on her blog. I feel that being in Japan I want to return the favor to my friend by doing a “Ramen Run” post.

If you have known me for a while you would know that I love tonkotsu ramen from the Hakata region in Japan. The broth is easy to mess up but when it is done right it is true pork magic. However, I live in a region of Japan that is famous for Sanuki style udon (hence the western style taunt in the title). Udon is the best here and good ramen restaurants are hard to find. There was a small shop that had blase tonkotsu ramen in it, which was recently bought and changed into a chain-owned ramen shop.

The shop is now called Menya Kiseki (麺屋軌跡). I never tried the previous defuncted ramen shop, but this was a massive step up.

P1020887

They make a shio broth. Shio ramen is basically salt ramen and goes really well with seafood. Here is what I ordered.

P1020890

海老塩ラーメン(Ebi Shio Ramen)

  This was their ebi shio ramen (海老塩ラーメン), translating to salt shrimp ramen. I got the set with a rice bowl of your choice. I chose the shirasu rice bowl (シラス丼)

シラス丼(shirasu donburi)

シラス丼(shirasu donburi)

I am a sucker for these small edible whitebait fish. They are basically baby Japanese anchovies. I put them on everything I possibly can. They are simply magic. Well, the broth of the ramen was a bit salty for my taste. I know what your thinking. “It’s salt ramen! That’s how it is!” Yeah to some degree you are right, but salt ramen actually has a very light taste which kisses your taste bud with the main featured flavor of the broth, being dried small shrimp in this case, leaving a small mist of salt behind. This wasn’t the case for this ramen. I was happy with it but wished the salt could be turned down a bit. I was happy my shirasu rice bowl was there because it acted as my palate cleanser between each spoonful of broth. The shirasu had a clean, fresh taste with every bite. The ramen, bursting with more layers of flavor, had a sea bream chashu. That’s the big slice of meat near the front. It was so good. Here is a closer look of the ramen again.

P1020893

I have to say, the staff and atmosphere were really good and it got really packed right after we ordered. Just put less salt next time! Well, Ramen Run, I hope you enjoy it. Thanks for the tribute so long ago.

1 Comment

Filed under Japan

One response to “This is Udon Country, son.

  1. Woohoo! I’m on wordpress! Thanks for the mention!

    Like

Leave a Reply

